Haiyan Gao is the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs at the Duke Kunshan University. She is also the Henry Newson professor of physics at the Duke University. She was the chair of the department of physics at Duke University from 2011 to 2014, and former President of the International Organization of the Chinese Physicists and Astronomers.

She was born in Shanghai, and spent a few years of her childhood in the city of kunshan. She received her B.S. degree from Tsinghua University in 1988 and Ph.D. in physics from Caltech in 1994. She was a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign from 1994 to 1996 and then joined the staff at the Argonne National Laboratory in 1996. She became an assistant professor of physics at MIT in 1997 and was promoted to associate professor in 2002. She joined the physics faculty at Duke University in 2002 and became a full professor in 2008. She was named the Henry Newson Professor of Physics in 2012 at Duke. From 2006 to 2009, she was the associate chair for teaching in physics at Duke and became the chair of the department in 2011.

Her research interests cover structure of the nucleon, search for Quantum Chromodynamics (QCD) exotics, fundamental symmetry studies at low energy to search for new physics beyond the Standard Model of electroweak interactions, and the developments of polarized targets. She received a number of awards including the China’s National Thousand-Talent Plan professor at Tsinghua University (2012-2015), Chang Jiang Chair professor at Tsinghua University, Ministry of Education of China (2009-2012); Fellow of the American Physical Society (2007); Overseas Outstanding Young Scholar Collaborative Award, National Natural Science Foundation of China (2005-2008); Outstanding Junior Investigator award, U.S. Department of Energy (2000). She has published over 120 papers in peer-reviewed journals, and has given more than 250 invited conference talks, seminars and colloquia. She chaired and co-chaired many workshops and conferences, has served on many international advisory committees and panels, and a number of editorial boards of journals. Recently, she served on the American Physical Society (APS) Council and Executive Board, co-chaired the 21st International Symposium on Spin Physics in 2014 and became the Chair-elect of the International Spin Physics Committee. Currently she serves on the editorial board of Phys. Rev. C, the board of trustees of the Southeastern Universities Research Association (SURA), and chairs the Jefferson Lab Users Group Board of Directors. close